• Sacerdotes

Two Diocesan Bishops Join the Order in the Philippines

We have two new brothers in the Order of Preachers: Most Rev. Socrates Villegas, Archbishop of Lingayen-Dagupan and President of the Catholic Bishops' Conference of the Philippines; and Most Rev. Rudolfo Beltran, Bishop of San Fernando, La Union.

They received the habit of St. Dominic during the celebration of the Vespers at the Dominican Community of Manaoag on 12 June 2015 which happens to be the Philippines Independence Day and the Solemnity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

They received the habit at the hands of Fr. Gerard Francisco Timoner III, Prior Provincial of the Dominican Province of the Philippines. They began their novitiate in the Order as members of the Dominican Clerical Fraternity of the Philippines.

The Dominican Clerical Fraternity is the equivalent of the lay Dominican fraternity for ordained diocesan clergy because it traditionally forms a part of the (Dominican) Third Order Secular. Recent developments suggested the distinction of the Third Order Secular Cleric members from the Third Order Secular Lay members (now known as Lay Dominican Fraternities). St. Louis Marie de Monfort and St. Arnold Janssen, founder of the Society of the Divine Word were numbered among its prominent members

(15 June 2015)